Search

Tandava

Tandava

Shiva-Nataraja-pintura.jpgSkt. ताण्डव, tāṇḍava – frantic dance 

Comes from the great dance of Shiva in the form of Nataraja. It symbolizes the cosmic cycles of creation and destruction, as well as the daily rhythm of birth and death. In a broader sense, a fierce, energetic dance performed by a man. A more subtle female dance is called lasya – from lasa, "alive".






Shiva's dance consists of the ever-flowing combinations of His five powerful actions, panchakritya:

  1. Srishti: creation or emanation – symbolized by His upper right hand extracting Paranada from the drum-damaru, the Primary Sound, from which the rhythms and cycles of creation originate;
  2. Sthiti: preservation, maintenance – symbolized by His lower right hand in a gesture of blessing, abhaya-mudra, which means “do not be afraid”;
  3. Samhara: destruction, dissolution or absorption – symbolized by fire in His upper left hand, making the gesture of ardhachandra-mudra ("crescent moon");
  4. Tirobhava: the grace of concealment, illusion – the energy that hides the truth and thereby gives the opportunity for experience, growth and the ultimate realization of fate. She is represented by His right foot trampling on a prostrate figure (Apasmarapurusha or Muyalaka), symbolizing ignorance, or anava;
  5. Anugraha: divine grace that bestows knowledge and breaks the fetters of the soul, represented by the raised left leg of Shiva and His lower left hand in the gajahasta mudra (inviting "gesture of the elephant trunk").

These five cosmic actions are sometimes symbolically personified respectively as Brahma, Vishnu, Rudra, Maheshwara and Sadashiva, or as Sadyojata (creation), Vamadeva (preservation), Aghora (absorption), Tatpurusha (concealment), and Ishana (bestowal of grace).

The ring of fire (prabhamandala) in which Shiva dances is the palace of consciousness (chitsabha); in other words, the human heart filled with light, the central place of the manifested cosmos. Shiva, dancing, gives existence to the universe and takes it away, hides the Ultimate Reality for the majority, reveals it to the devotees who come close and recognize Parashiva, the Ultimate Reality, in the palace of their inner being. Indeed, we all dance with Shiva.

There are no less than seven types of Tandava in Hindu texts: Ananda Tandava, Tripura Tandava, Sandhya Tandava, Samhara Tandava, Kali (Kalika) Tandava, Uma Tandava, and Gauri Tandava. However, some scholars believe that there are even 16 varieties of this dance.

It is also believed that the dance was named Tandava from the name of Tandu, a skilled musician, devotee of Shiva. In later Hindu mythology, there is an version that Tandu himself was its author, who created it as a festive dance to be performed by Shiva and his wife Parvati after the feast.

The image of Shiva as Nataraja is of particular importance in the southern regions of India and is associated with Shaiva-Siddhanta tradition. In Tamil it is associated with the word Tāṇḍavam (Tamil: தாண்டவம்) and is also known as Tāṇḍava natyam.

The Ceylon Tamil philosopher, mystic, and art critic Ananda Kumaraswamy (Tamil: ஆனந்த குமாரசுவாமி, Ananda Kentiś Muthū Kumāraswāmī; 08.22.1877 - 09.09.1947) speaks of the tandava:

“How many different dances of Shiva are known to his admirers, I cannot say. Without a doubt, the root idea of ​​all these dances is more or less the same, a manifestation of primordial rhythmic energy. Whatever the origin of Shiva's dance, over time, it has become the clearest way of God's activities, which any art or religion can boast."

The Hindu Scriptures tell of various occasions when Shiva or other gods performed Tandava. There is also "Shiva Tandava Stotra", the authorship of which is attributed to the demonic king of Lanka asura Ravana, a devotee of Shiva, which describes the power and beauty of the Deity.



Share:

Поиск

Тандава

Тандава

Тандава (Санскр. ताण्डव, tāṇḍava — неистовый танец) — происходит от великого танца Шивы в форме Натараджи. Символизирует космические циклы созидания и разрушения, а также ежедневный ритм рождения и смерти. В более щироком смысле яростный, энергичный танец, исполняемый мужчиной. Более тонкий женский танец называется ласья — от ласа, «живой».

Танец Шивы состоит из вечно текущих комбинаций Его пяти мощных действий, панчакритья:

1) сришти: творение или эманация — символизируется Его верхней правой рукой, извлекающей из барабанчика-дамару Паранаду, Первичный Звук, от которого происходят ритмы и циклы творения;
2) стхити: сохранение, поддержание — символизируется Его нижней правой рукой в жесте благословения, абхайя-мудре, которая означает «не бойся»;
3) самхара: разрушение, растворение или поглощение — символизируется огнем в Его верхней левой руке, делающей жест ардхачандра-мудра («полумесяц»);
4) тиробхава: милость сокрытия, иллюзия — энергия, которая прячет истину и дает тем самым возможность опыта, роста и конечного осуществления судьбы. Она представлена Его правой ногой, попирающей простертую фигуру (Апасмарапурушу или Муялаку), символизирующую неведение, или анаву;
5) ануграха: божественная милость, дарующая знание и разрывающая путы души, представленная поднятой левой ногой Шивы и Его нижней левой рукой в гаджахаста-мудре (приглашающем «жесте слоновьего хобота»).

Эти пять космических действий иногда символически персонифицируются соответственно как Брахма, Вишну, Рудра, Махешвара и Садашива или же как Садйоджата (творение), Вамадева (сохранение), Агхора (поглощение), Татпуруша (сокрытие) и Ишана (дарование милости).

Кольцо огня (прабхамандала), в котором Шива танцует, — это дворец сознания (читсабха); иными словами, наполненное светом сердце человека, центральное помещение проявленного космоса. Шива, танцуя, дает вселенной существование и отнимает его, сокрывает Предельную Реальность для большинства, раскрывает ее для преданных, которые подходят близко и распознают Парашиву, Предельную Реальность, во дворце своего внутреннего бытия. Воистину, все мы танцуем вместе с Шивой.

В Индуистских текстах встречается не менее семи типов Тандавы: Ананда Тандава, Трипура Тандава, Сандхья Тандава, Самхара Тандава, Кали (Калика) Тандава, Ума Тандава и Гаури Тандава. Однако, некоторые ученые считают, что существует даже 16 разновидностей этого танца.

Считается так же, что танец своё название тандава мог получить от имени Танду, искусного музыканта, преданного Шивы, В позднейшей индуистской мифологии есть вариант, что сам Танду был его автором, создавшим его как праздничный танец для исполнения Шивой и его супругой Парвати после пира.

Особое значение образ Шивы как Натараджи имеет в Южных регионах Индии и связан с традицией Шайва-Сиддханта. На тамильском он связывается со словом Tāṇḍavam (Тамил: தாண்டவம்), а также известен как Tāṇḍava natyam.

Принадлежащий к цейлонским тамилам философ, мистик и искусствовед Ананда Кумарасвами (Тамил.: ஆனந்த குமாரசுவாமி, Ананда Kentiś Muthū Kumāraswāmī; 22.08.1877 − 9.09.1947) говорит о тандаве:

«Сколько различных танцев Шивы известно его поклонникам, я не могу сказать. Без сомнения, коренная идея всех этих танцев более или менее одна и та же, проявление первозданной ритмической энергии. Каким бы ни было происхождение танца Шивы, оно со временем стало самым ясным образом деятельности Бога, которым может похвастаться любое искусство или религия.»

Индуистские Писания повествуют о различных случаях, когда Шива или другие боги выполняли Тандаву. Существует так же «Шива Тандава Стотра» авторство которой приписывается демоническому царю Ланки асуру Раване, преданному Шивы, которая описывает силу и красоту Божества.


Поделиться ссылкой: