Nidhi — Nivarana

Nidhi Nidhi

“store”, “hoard”, “treasure”

Nidhi most often translated as a treasure, but there are also other meanings:

  • a vessel (reservoir) 
  • a barn as a storage area; 
  • an ocean 
  • chronology (as the science of time, history); 
  • one of Vishnu’s names; 
  • a person endowed with many positive qualities.
 → Подробнее...

“deep meditation”

The last of the three practices recommended by Vedanta schools for an apprentice who has mastered preparatory disciplines. The first two practices are reading and listening (śrāvaṇa) and deliberation, reflection on what has been heard or read (manana).

 → Подробнее...
Collections of revelations - a kind of Agamas  → Подробнее...

The inner energy of Shiva, "His own". The concomitant with Shiva, following His will, (manifested) as dharma and adharma.

She has five qualities: Eternity (nityatā), Stainlessness (nirañjanatā), Vibrationlessness (niṣpandatā), Unreflectingness (nirābhāsatā) and Unawakenedness (nirutthānatā).

 → Подробнее...
Conditionality of rituals and precepts.  → Подробнее...

“blue neck”, “blue throat”

The name is Shiva’s epithet associated with the mythological episode of the churning of the Milk Ocean by gods and demons (asuras) described in the Puranas.

Among the objects that appeared from the ocean was the poison of kalakuta, which threatened the death of the gods and all living beings on earth. To avert the danger, Shiva drank the poison and held it in his throat, causing it to turn blue.

 → Подробнее...

“shutting the eye”, “twinkling”, “winking”

Nimesha is a unit of time denoting a moment, duration of blinking.

1 nimesha (winking) is 0.16 seconds.

 → Подробнее...
Nirvikalpa-samadhi is the ultimate state of consciousness, in which there are no samskaras (seeds), when a person fully attains unity with Brahman, who is beyond all changes and differences, time, form, and space.  → Подробнее...
In Hinduism, this term refers to removing (distress) or prevention (of all suffering).
In Buddhism, five hindrances, phenomena of mind, that keep mind the dark are called nivarana. These five are passion (kāmacchanda), resentment (vyāpāda), laziness and apathy (thīna-middha), restlessness (uddhacca-kukkucca), doubt (vicikicchā). In dhyana, nivarana is temporarily removed, therefore the mind is filled with happiness and delight. The arhat does not have these states (nivarana).

 → Подробнее...