हठ-योग, haṭha-yoga

Hatha Yoga is the yoga of body, with the help of which we can make our body flawless, healthy, clean and gain a higher state. The system of Hatha Yoga was developed by Matsyendranath, Gorakshanath, Chauranginath, Svatmarama and others, up to Bhartrihari and Gopichandra.

Hatha Yoga includes the following practices:
  • sukshma-vyayama
  • shatkarmas (purification techniques), such as:
  • asana (stable body position)
  • pranayama (controlling vital energy through breathing exercises)
  • mudra (seal) and bandha (muscle "lock"), redirecting the flow of prana into the central channel sushumna.

These methods contribute to the awakening of a sleeping spiritual force – Kundalini-shakti, which rises up the central channel and connects with the superconscious – Shiva. This union of spiritual energy and consciousness is called Hatha Yoga.

There are many definitions of the term “ha-tha” in the classical texts of Naths, here are just a few of them: Surya-Chandra, Prana-Apana, Dakshina-Vama, Yamuna-Ganga, Ida-Pingala, Shiva-Shakti, Kula-Akula, Dvaita-Advaita and others. Through the complete unity of opposites and the achievement of perfect balance (samarasya), the highest goal of Hatha Yoga is achieved.