Short practice of Gorakhnath-mantra

It should be noted that most of worshiping of Gorakshanath in India is performed with Shabar-mantras. These are mantras composed in Hindi very often with different dialects. It is believed that these mantras are associated with "spoken languages", so this language, unlike Sanskrit, is called Sahaja-bhasha. The language of the Vedas has a lot of its own peculiarities to which initiation is needed, and many (though not all) believe that only dvija (brahmins, kshatriyas, vaishyas) can perform spiritual practices in it. There are also mantras in Sanskrit (an improved language) in which the Puranas, Itihasas and other Smriti texts are written. Puranic mantras are less complex than Vedic Sanskrit. However, Sanskrit mantras are also not simple, like Sanskrit itself, learning it takes a lot of time. And the third category of mantras is tantric. These mantras use the so-called bijаs (seed mantras), they are full of symbolic codes, therefore they also require special explanations from the Guru and instructions on their practices. One of the varieties of these mantras are the Shabar-mantras, which I mentioned at the beginning.

And although these mantras seem to be “simple”, because languages are spoken, unlike Sanskrit, which few people now use for dialogues, these mantras, in fact, also need clarification. This can especially complicate the task for a foreigner who does not know any Indian languages at all. Shabar-mantras are full of symbolism, therefore their content, when properly understood, is a mean for natural contemplation.

In our tradition, there are no restrictions for those who want to worship Gorakshanath with the mantras from Vedas, Puranas or Tantras, there are different variations of upasana. But here I give the main version of the short practice of Gorakshanath Shabar-mantra, which is popular among the Nathas. I also include description of the main meanings and prescriptions for practice.

It is best to practice the mantra in the morning, after taking a shower, in a place reserved for puja, mantra or meditation.

It is necessary first to perform achamanya with mantras. Among the Nathas, these mantras differ from the achamanya-mantras given in the Vedas, etc.

Pour water into the right hand and drink with the mantra:

ॐ सत नमो आदेश sat namo ādeś – May there be the manifestation of True Being!

Do the same a second time with another mantra:

ॐ गुरूजी को आदेश oṃ gurūjī ko ādeś  – May there be the will of Guru!

Drink again with the third mantra:

ॐ सद्गुरुजी, नाथ जी गुरूजी को आदेश  oṃ sadgurujī, nāth jī gurūjī ko ādeś  – May there be the blessings of Sadguru (Gorakshanath) and Guru Nath (your Guru)!

Sprinkle the asana on which you are sitting with water, saying aloud or silently the mantra for the consecration of the asana:

सत नमो आदेश,गुरूजी को आदेश,
ॐ गुरूजी मन मारू मैदा करू, करू चकनाचूर
पांच महेश्वर आज्ञा करे तो बैठू आसन पूर
श्री नाथ जी गुरूजी को आदेश आदेश
sat namo ādeś,gurūjī ko ādeś,
oṃ gurūjī man mārū maidā karū,karū caknācūr
pāṃc maheśvar ājñā kare to baiṭhū āsan pūr
śrī nāth jī gurūjī ko ādeś ādeś


Let there be the presence of a Higher Being (Truth)! Let there be the blessings of Guruji!
Reverence to Guruji! Eliminate the imperfections of the mind, making it an empty space dissolved in prana. Grind them into sacred ashes (the ashes are the symbol of nectar or grace "prasada"). Let the will of the five Maheshvaras "sit down" in its fullness in this place.
Glorious Nathji Guruji, let there be your mercy.


Five Maheshvaras can be five Karaneshvaras (Brahma, Vishnu, Rudra, Ishvara, Sadashiva) or five forms of Shiva which are known as Panchabrahma (five manifestations of Shiva) – Tatpurusha, Aghora, Sadyojata, Vamadeva, Ishana. Panchabrahma are depicted as different faces of Shiva, which look in different directions of the world, i.e. from them all creation is manifested in infinite space.

Panchakaraneshvaras can be associated both with the cardinal points and with our chakras inside the body, but also Brahma is the energy of creation "srishti", Vishnu is the power to maintain the created "sthiti", Rudra is the destruction of the created "samhara", Ishvara is "tirodhana " (hiding what is sacred) and Sadashiva – "anugraha" or "prasada", the descending power of revelation.

After you can perform nadi-shuddhi pranayama with the mula Shabar-mantra of Gorakshanath:

ॐ शिव गोरक्ष योगी oṃ śiva gorakṣa yogī

One can do 11 cycles of nadi-shuddhi pranayama with mantra, some people do 20 cycles. It is believed that if you do a lot of such pranayama with the mula mantra, it substitutes the practice of nyasas, which are used in other sadhanas. Sometimes even shorter Shabar-bija can be used, pronouncing it in Hindi format:

शिव गोरक्ष  śiv gorakṣ

Further, you can practice japa of the mantra, meditating on Gorakhnath – the symbol of samadhi, the symbol of the omnipresent pure light – revealing these qualities in yourself. Gradually you will get the experience of pure vibrations (anahata), the experience of inner light, the state of calmness (shanti) and the state of detachment, inner stability. These are the basic states for self-exploration (Atma-vichara), the realization of one's true Self (Atma-sakshatkara). If you feel during japa that your breath stops, all thoughts disappear, the awakened consciousness (unmana) appears, then you can simply be in this state without any practice of the mantra. This state will also be a mantra, but on a deeper level. This may be a temporary state of samadhi. Over time, it will increase in duration and depth.

Guru Yogi Matsyendranath Maharaj